top of page
  • Writer's pictureLorna Lamon

My Fragmented Soul

Updated: Apr 11, 2018

A poem written to describe the mental trauma that is Abuse.


Fragmented person, depression.

You left me empty, frightened and alone

I had no place to run to, no safety I could call home

The joy that was a part of me lies crying on the floor

I step inside my sadness, my little black door


I felt my life was on a stage with blackness all around

I tried to fly on broken wings yet I could not leave the ground

I screamed a scream that no-one heard

Please open this prison and free this bird


Tears all dried up there is nothing left

A heart turned to stone empty and bereft

I run through a grassy field trying to break free

Where can I find you, where is me


Yet here I am, I did survive

I escaped the torture, the insidious lies

Little by little I will become whole

I will be the Master of my fragmented soul

0 comments
bottom of page